Contact : info@savemedogrescue.ca

Dogs

Buddy

Buddy has an application

 Sponsored by the Boyd family

 

Meet Buddy. He is a 3yr old Yorkie/Shih Tzu mix, male (just neutered). He is about 10lbs but he is a bit skinny right now as he has not had much of an appetite since coming into our care.
Buddy is a very charming little guy. He has been doing fine with our cat and our dogs but he would prefer a home where he would be the centre of attention and affection. He gets pretty nervous around the other dogs and is not quite sure how to react when there is barking or a commotion. He prefers a calm place where they can focus on him. He likes to play and LOVES to give kisses. He wants to sit by you and watch your every move and cuddle with you every chance to get.
He has been going out on walks and seems to enjoy them, although, again, he gets a bit nervous if we approach other dogs. Otherwise, he does fine with his harness, smelling the flowers and taking in the sites. Because he is shy, I would classify him as a flight risk. You will need a solid fence with no area for him to escape and it would be best if you just stayed outside with him. He really does not like to be alone. We have left him alone when we go to work for up to four hours. He gets anxious at first but does settle down after a bit. He is always sleeping on the bed when we arrive back home.

He has had no problem in our home as far as being housetrained. We let him out regularly and take him for a few shorts walks each day so he can do his business.

Buddy came with a crate and we leave it out for him but we don’t close the door. Sometimes he will go in there an lie down. I am pretty sure he prefers to sleep in the bed with us though. He has been quiet but his previous owner mentioned that he barked a lot when people came to the door or if he could see the squirrels outside running around in his yard. He does have a prey drive. Another reason why it is best for him to be your one and only.

Although Buddy enjoys the cars rides he sometimes gets car sick. He has taken Children’s Gravol in the past for this with good results. When we took him for a few short car rides we put him in his crate. He seemed comfortable there and did not need Gravol.

If you have a nice, safe home for Buddy to learn to build his confidence, with no small children (should be at least 12yrs of age), he would love to be yours forever. He will love you and cherish you and be as loyal as can be.

Please consider giving Buddy a  home.

For more information on Buddyy, please contact Angela at kingtwins8@aol.com