Contact :



Roo has been adopted!

Sponsored by Jonathan in honour of his Mom’s efforts for the dogs.



My name is Roo, and I am a German Shepherd mix who recently came to Ontario all the way from northern Manitoba. I am about 1.5-2 years old and just had a puppy in February, which is funny because I am still a puppy at heart myself! I will be getting spayed before I am adopted, so you won’t have to worry about any mini-me’s from now on.

I am a loving, affectionate, gentle girl who just wants to be around my people. When I first wake up in the morning, I do a big downward dog stretch and put my paws on your feet to say good morning. I absolutely love getting pets and cuddles, and I will let you know when I feel like snuggling (which is all the time) by looking up at you with my big, soulful eyes.

I am a fairly big girl, currently weighing around 70 lbs, but I am still a little bit underweight. I adore my food, though, and I’ll never say no to some treats or peanut butter in a kong, so I don’t think it will be hard for me to reach my ideal weight. I adore going for walks and need a lot of exercise to tire me out, so my ideal forever family would have a fenced yard for me to run around in, and be willing to take me on lots of walks or hikes! Because I love to run around and play, I would do best living in a house. I think I would do well in an urban or rural environment, as long as I have access to plenty of green space to run around in. I have been living in the city with my foster mom, and I haven’t been reactive to traffic or noise at all, aside from the occasional bark if I hear someone knock at the door. I am a very quiet girl.

Although I love spending time with people, I am good at playing independently too, and like to have a big variety of toys to choose from. My favourite is probably stuffed squeaky toys. I am warning you now, they don’t last long once I get my big teeth in them, but I am just as happy to play with them after I have deconstructed them, and I have never swallowed any of the stuffing.

My foster mom says that I am very smart. I am house trained and have been picking up new commands quickly. I am still getting used to some strange things that I did not encounter in my previous life in Manitoba – for example, I am apprehensive about baths and certain types of stairs, but with a little patience and reassurance, I have shown that I can overcome these fears. One thing that is still a work-in-progress for me is my leash manners. My foster mom has been helping me learn that it’s better when I don’t pull on the leash, especially because I am VERY strong and if I decide to pull, you will have a hard time holding me back. This is something that I will need to keep working on with my forever family.

Because of social distancing and the fact that I am still in the process of being vaccinated, I haven’t been able to interact with children, pets, or other people besides my foster mom. But before I arrived, my foster mom was told that I am very good with people and other dogs, and she believes it! I am very friendly to everyone I see on my walks, but I am so excited to meet new doggy friends that I sometimes forget the leash manners I have been working on and will try to pull you over to see them. I think I would like to have lots of interaction with other dogs when this is all over. As for children, I think I would do fine with little ones as long as their parents show them how to play gently and respectfully with me.

I am a very sweet pup looking for a forever family who will love me as much as I will love you (which is a whole lot)!

A member of the veterinary clinic Save Me Rescue works closely with fell in love with Roo during her check up and is excited to welcome her into their family.

Roo was lovingly fostered by Harley.