Contact : info@savemedogrescue.ca

Dogs

Penney

Penney is available for adoption – Courtesy Cross Posting for Finding Them Homes

Please contact Finding Them Homes directly for any inquiries and to fill out an adoption application (www.findingthemhomes.com)

 

Penney

It is Tuesday and what a great day to be alive! The only thing that could make today better is finding my forever family!

My name is Penney, and I am a mature single female dog, I am looking for my forever soulmate- is that you?

I am estimated to be at least 7 years old and I am a spayed female chihuahua mix, I weigh about 10 lbs and I also have been vaccinated and I am microchipped. I developed painful glaucoma in my left eye and had to undergo surgery to have it removed recently. My right eye is also developing cataracts and it will likely also lose sight in it with time as well, I take eye drops once a day for life for this condition which costs about $10 a month. I have an old injury that has caused some baldness on my hind end and so it will need to be protected from the cold (I wear a stylish red parka) and the sun (T-shirt, shade, non-toxic sunscreen) too – but it doesn’t bother me otherwise. I have luxating patellas in both hind legs, but it doesn’t seem to cause me discomfort. Because I do have luxating patellas, I need to stay lean or else I will have issues. Patella luxation can cause issues like cartilage damage, inflammation, pain, and even ligament tears, so my lean figure has to be strictly maintained. I take a joint supplement for the luxating patella, as well as a teeth and skin supplement, to prevent oral hygiene issues and help maintain my healthy skin and coat. I am also on medication that I will be taking long term to prevent and manage some seizures that I have had in foster care. When I have had a seizure episode, I have become glassy-eyed and disoriented. I will be wobbling and if I attempt to walk I am unbalanced and fall over. It usually only lasts a few minutes. The medication is phenobarbital and it costs about $60 a month, and I also need an annual blood test to check on the drug levels, which will cost around $200 a year. It is also important to note that my food should not contain any rosemary extract as this is not good for seizures.

I am still really wary of any new people and I will bark and lunge out of fear if they try to approach me. If you ignore me and take your time with me, and give me a chance I will warm up. Sometimes I still get spooked if my foster dad puts a hat on, so try not to be offended if I don’t recognize you in your various wardrobes. Oh, foster mom says I should admit I was a bit of a handful at the vet. I didn’t know the vet, and I was really nervous and growling and snapping. Foster dad wore really big gloves to keep us all safe. In the end the vet took me away into another room to get bloodwork done and I was a very good girl. I was just really scared at first, and you are going to have to take precautions when I meet new people like the vet to keep everyone safe.

In my foster home, I have two small dogs as foster brothers and they coexist with me. We are all old dogs who are independent so we don’t really play together, we are all happy to sleep in our separate spaces when we hang out in a family. Sometimes I will go away from the action to my dog bed just in the next room. We all walk really nicely together outside too. Although, at home around meal times I can get a bit grumbly if they snoop about my crate while I am eating in it, my foster parents coach me to “leave it” and they make sure the two boys don’t bother me while I eat. They also would practice dealing with this behaviour by walking past my covered and uncovered crate with the dogs on leash and giving me feedback and coaching to encourage a calm response vs. growling and barking.

When I first came into my foster home I was kept on leash as I would attempt to chase the foster cats. Over time with coaching from my foster parents and my learning to be calm through “sit on the dog”, I am no longer very curious about the 3 cats in my foster home. I have no idea how I would react to other cats as I wasn’t too sure about these ones for a while.

When I am out of my crate in my foster home I like to sleep on my own bed away from all the commotion in the home, I am quite independent and I like my space. I also do not like being picked up or snuggled, I enjoy being a dog and I hope my forever family will respect this and treat me like the BIG dog I believe myself to be!!! (I don’t know who the little dog I see in the mirror is, that isn’t me, I am huge in my own mind!!!) I do like to rest and nap a lot during the day, so a chihuahua-savvy retirement home is my dream!

My foster parents say I am such a sweet girl once you get to know me and now that I know them and trust them I am always happy and excited to see them and at least once a day I play with my stuffed ducky that I absolutely love to “attack”. I am always excited to go outside in the yard to do my business, and I jump like a young pup with exuberance and make funny little gremlin noises when I know it’s time for a walk. My foster parents make sure I do calm down before we go out the door though to start the walk in a more relaxed state.

Speaking of walking, I love it so much! I really am still quite nervous of other humans, and I make a big scene when they walk by. My foster parents are working on this with me and they tell me to “leave it” and keep walking. I calm down but this is going to be an ongoing thing I will need to work on. I don’t bark at all dogs, most I walk by without issue but some I am just not sure I like. My foster parents do the same they do with people that I bark at, and we keep moving and I calm again. We also practice turning around/changing directions to work on this reaction.

House training has not been an issue for me at all, I have not had any accidents in my foster home. I will go to the door when I need to do my business and scratch, but just in case my foster parents always stick to a routine of going out when I leave my crate, every hour that I am out of the crate and we take lots of walks during the day as well.

Crate time is important for me, I like my rest and it’s my little nook, I eat my meals there and take day time naps, and I sleep through the night (since day one, not to brag). When I first came into foster care I needed to be led into my crate with a leash, but very quickly I learned the command crate. When I go in for naps or downtime foster mom just says “crate” and I go in, I actually go in all on my own whenever I feel like some personal time throughout the day too. Sometimes I steal a lot of the stuffies that I play with in my bed from the living room and bring them one by one into my crate. I even play with my stuffies in there when the mood comes over me. I get a blanket (I roll myself into a burrito all on my own) and one stuffy inside to cuddle, I eat in my crate and I do like it covered. Since getting regular meals and a set routine I have stopped some of this “resource guarding” behaviour. This will be really important to watch for, especially if you have a dog.

I have not met children, but given my response to adults and kids on walks, I would do best in a quiet home with no children.

My foster family practices a lot of NO TOUCH, NO TALK with me, this is helpful with preventing undesirable behaviours like separation anxiety as well as demanding behaviours.

I am still learning “sit”, “come”, “wait”, and “down”.

I have gone on some car rides tethered in the back seat of the car for now to keep me safe and keep you from being distracted. I normally settle very quickly and just lay down like a good girl! I can jump into my foster parents’ car but it’s a small car and I will probably need to be lifted into larger vehicles. I am not a big fan of being picked up and carried around but I trust my foster parents when they have to do it.
My foster parents keep me on leash inside and out, this is to create a bond and it keeps me safe! It will also help you keep me off the furniture because I am persistent, I will try to break the rules over and over and over again.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an application in my name, PENNEY, at www.findingthemhomes.com. It is recommended that I stay on leash for a minimum of 30 days while I am in my new home (both inside and outside) so that I get used to things and learn your house rules.